This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction to me and the site!

Hi! My name is Barb and I am an admin here at SBC! Years ago I opened this site as a forum for people living with spina bifida. It was a great and active forum but, unfortunately, my real life became very hectic (lots of surgeries) and I also went back to work at the same time. I had to close the board which was very sad for me. I am so happy that we are able to reopen the site and have the financial backing of a parent company to keep it open for the long haul this time!

So, my 'story'. I am a mom to two boys, one who was born with an L3-L4 myelomenigocele. He is 9 years old now. My other is 11. "C" as I will refer to him for short on the boards is recovering from his 1st detethering in May. It has been a LONG road. He was ambulatory with bilateral afo's prior to but is now using his chair full time. Rather than tell it all in a story I will bullet point his various diagnosis:
    • shunted hydrocephalus (programmable)
    • slit ventricle syndrome
    • chiari II malformation (decompressed at age 3)
    • cecostomy
    • autistic spectrum (very high functioning)
    • latex allergic (has had anaphytic reaction)
    Now the IMPORTANT stuff:
    • He is very, very cute (no, really he is!)
    • On grade level in all subjects but math (we are homeschooling this year)
    • Pretty much a typical kid
    • He loves Disney and Bears
    • Wants to be a Rock Star or an Imagineer when he grows up
    • Has a very cool new TiLite chair with light up wheels.
    So, I guess that about sums it up. I loved sharing with and learning from all the members years ago and I am so lost without the support.
    "All you need is faith and trust... and a little bit of pixie dust!" --Peter Pan
    Read about our lives and travels on my blog Mom Off Track
    I am on twitter if you ever need to get me quickly or just want to chat about something!